cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
GavinF69
Helper II
Helper II

Query regarding Apply to each loop to remove unwanted characters from multi-select options form fields

I have been struggling to get this right and finally found a solution from Alan (Flow: Stripping Unwanted Characters or Special Characters From a String - Flow - AlanPs1.io) that at least saves and tests cleanly... that said I have two questions since I'm a novice at this and I need this to work for other flows I still need to build...

So, question 1 is... when defining an apply to each, do you have to do this iteration for every field that possible contains the characters or can you just define all the fields where the characters will be found in a single compose action? My flow looks like this...

GavinF69_0-1666098548221.png

I tried to select all the fields where I know the characters exist that I want to remove i.e. ('[', '"','|', ']')

GavinF69_1-1666098676239.png

then I want to enter the routines where the variables are declared and the apply to each loop routine (as per Alan's example)

GavinF69_2-1666098791000.png

and this is the part I'm not sure of question 2... does this have to be repeated for each field containing the characters to be removed? or will this take care of all of them since they were all specified in the 1st compose select box?

GavinF69_3-1666098970818.png

and now finally the last part of the question is, how do I input the "cleaned data" into the template I am using to create a document? question 3...do I reference the output of the last compose which is my exit of the apply to each loop in the template field, instead of its dynamic reference? the circle below is what I am referring to when I update the template, must this be the dynamic content field or must it be output of the sanitise routine above? and if the latter can I use the same "sanitise" output in each field I declared up front that I want to clean?

GavinF69_4-1666099746272.png