cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
FancyShoes

Read from Array and apply changes to SharePoint list

Hello,

I'm new to Flow and getting started with this great tool. For my current scenario I need some help.

What I want: I'm a device manager and I want to hand out several devices to an employee (such as iPhone, Headset, etc. upon onboarding the person). After doing this, my inventory list should be updated.

I have two lists in Sharepoint: list A is for the device manager to track a new order and looks like this:

A.PNG

List B is my inventory list that looks like this:

B.PNG

So far, I was able to write the selected devices to an array. After sending an email to myself with the output of my array variable, it looks like this:

Devices: ["Plantronics Voyager 8200 UC","Apple iPhone 8"]

Now, my problem: How can I extend my flow to subtract one device from the Quantity column for the headset and the iPhone?

My expected result should be that there's a 9 in the Quantity column for the headset and the iPhone after I set the Handed Out value to "Ja".

Can you help me with this? 🙂

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
henkenTech
Resolver II
Resolver II

Hi there,

there is an easy way and a hard way. Let's stick to the easy way:

1. Create a second hidden column called "Handed Out (control)" with default Nein:

Screenshot 2021-04-22 101434.png

2. In your flow, have a condition for Handed Out does not equal Handed Out (control):

Screenshot 2021-04-22 101635.png

3. For the if true branch, add a for each loop to go through the items, subtract 1 from the number and update the item:

Screenshot 2021-04-22 101946.png

4. Finally, update the Handed out (control) to Ja so the flow doesn't loop endlessly:

Screenshot 2021-04-22 102000.png

Like I mentioned, there is also a hard way, but let's stick with this one for now 🙂 

max

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
henkenTech
Resolver II
Resolver II

Hi there,