cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Frequent Visitor

Referencing a the value of a SharePoint item in the Outputs() function

I am new to the syntax of expressions in Power Automate and I just can't get my head around how to reference a SharePoint column in the outputs() function. I need to perform a replace operation on the column 'Wording' and I am trying something like this:

replace(outputs('Action')?[body/Wording],'from','to')

Something in the underlined section is not correct.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Okay, I gave up and just initialized another variable to hold the contents of the Wording column and than used both variables in the replace function as follows:

DustyMac_0-1601565775930.png

The expression now reads as replace(variables('varWording'),variables('varNewLine'),'<BR>') and it works as expected.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
Highlighted
Frequent Visitor

It is no longer complaining if I change it to:

replace(triggerOutputs()?['body/value']?['Wording']?['Wording'],'from','to')
Highlighted

This is the final expression (so far)

replace(triggerOutputs()?['body/value']?['Wording'],variables('varNewLine'),'<BR>')

It compiles, but generates the following on execution (Wording is not empty):

InvalidTemplate. Unable to process template language expressions in action 'Create_file' inputs at line '1' and column '15076': 'The template language function 'replace' expects its first parameter 'string' to be a string. The provided value is of type 'Null'. Please see https://aka.ms/logicexpressions#replace for usage details.'.

Highlighted

Hi @DustyMac 

The expression you had used is correct, but you have to confirm the below before trying to replace.

• triggerOutputs()?['body/value']?['Wording'] should not be empty or null.
  • variables('varNewLine') should not be empty or null.

The error thrown below is because the value of the expression variables('varNewLine') is Null.