cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Dana_L
Regular Visitor

SOLVED: When a file is deleted in a SharePoint folder, delete file with the same name in a different SharePoint site folder

Hey everyone, 

I've been struggling with how to delete a file in a SharePoint folder when the same file is deleted in a different SharePoint site folder. I am VERY new to using Power Automate but I was able to successfully create my flow with some help from a programmer that I work with. Since I've seen several posts with the same or similar issues, I wanted to share what worked for us. Screenshots of my flow are below.

Dana_L_0-1627564519883.png

The function used for the my file identifier was coded as:

encodeUriComponent(concat('/Shared Documents/General/Meeting Agendas and Action Items/', triggerOutputs()?['body/FilenameWithExtension']))

Granted this flow might not work for you in your situation but hopefully,  you'll find it helpful.

All the best!

Dana_L

4 REPLIES 4
manuelstgomes
Super User
Super User

HI @Dana_L 

I would do the following:

1. Find the file first and get it's details. You can use the "Get file metadata using path" action to do it. Here you'll get the File Identifier that you can use in the next section.

2. Delete it using its ID. You can use the "delete file" action that you have. What you're including in the file ID is not the file ID and it's never good to try to generate it yourself.

Cheers
Manuel

------------------------------------------------------------------
If I have answered your question, please mark it as "Accept as Solution." It will help other members finding the solution faster. If you like my response, please give it a Thumbs Up. ?
Otherwise, reply to it, and the community will do its best to help you.

Hi @manuelstgomes ,