cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Pierre_EOLEN

Save Attachement from email and rename file without date

Hi, I am new with Power automate.

I am trying to save attachement from email into a my own folder. This parts works well if I only use the name of the file. My issue is to save this file with the another name.

The files comes with a project name follow by the date of the day. Example: 56Afnvproject_20220815.xslx. I would like to delete the date at the end of the file so other system can find the file.

My daily email only contains one file. 

Thanks,

Pierre

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
MarconettiMarco
Super User
Super User

Hello @Pierre_EOLEN ,

in the number of last characters to be removed is always the same, you can follow this steps:

1. Add the "Get attachment (V2)" action:

The Message Id and Attachments Attachment Id are grabbed from the Trigger

MarconettiMarco_0-1660888940808.png

2. Add a "Compose" action in which put the following expression:

substring(items('Apply_to_each')?['name'],0,sub(length(items('Apply_to_each')?['name']),14))

This function will remove the last 14 characters, including the extension ".xlsx"

MarconettiMarco_1-1660889064921.png

3. Add the OneDrive "Create file" action, where put the previous Compose outputs in the "File Name" +.xlsx

MarconettiMarco_2-1660889151883.png

Add the "Content Bytes" value, grabbed from the "Get Attachment" action, in the "File Content" field.

If I have answered your question, please mark my post as Solved.
If you like my response, please give it a Thumbs Up.

BR,

Marco

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
MarconettiMarco
Super User
Super User

Hello @Pierre_EOLEN ,

in the number of last characters to be removed is always the same, you can follow this steps:

1. Add the "Get attachment (V2)" action:

The Message Id and Attachments Attachment Id are grabbed from the Trigger

MarconettiMarco_0-1660888940808.png