cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
gsharrow
Level: Powered On

Select individual items from a MS form "multiple answers" question

I am new to flow and cannot figure out something that I thought would be pretty straight forward.

I have created a microsoft form to do a small survey.  I created a flow to push the data to a power BI data set.  I have a couple questions on the form that allow the user to pick more than one answer ("multiple answers" is selected for the question).  For those questions I want to push a row(s) into a specific table for each of the multiple answers they selected along with the response Id.   So if there are five choices and the user picked three I would add three rows to a table in the power bi data set, if they picked four choices, then four rows would be added to the table.

I can get everything to push to the data set correctly, except I cannot figure out how to split out the individual choice items into individual rows.  Right now for these types of questions it puts the entire string into the data set table field.  This is an example of what gets put into the data set table field for a question where two items were selected.   ["Azure Analysis Services","SSAS Tabular"]

Any ideas on how to accomplish this?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
gsharrow

Re: Select individual items from a MS form "multiple answers" question

I figured it out.  The multi selection question returns a json string array of the answers you selected.  If you use  parse the json (action/data operations/parse JSON) and then apply to each it will loop through each one and you can (in my case) insert tem individually into a power BI table.

Once I figured out the JSON array part it was very simple to do.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
gsharrow

Any thoughts on this, or a pointer to specific documentation on the topic?

gsharrow