cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
konczera
Regular Visitor

Send a customized email when a new file is added - limit to extension name and file names

Dear all,

I have some issues with Power Automate.

When using Sharepoint, I would like to notify a recipient when a new file with a specific extension and file name is created.

For example, I want to send a mail to xy@mail.com that an Excel file with file name starting with "12345" has been saved on this link.

However, I cannot find any options for filtering for file extensions or file names in my flow.

image.png

Can anybody help me please if such filtering is possible?

Thank you in advance

7 REPLIES 7
DPozzi
Helper II
Helper II

I'm not an expert but may I ask which trigger you use? if it's the creation or modification of an item in a sharepoint document library, maybe you could create a variable with the extension trimming the filename of the created file then you could use a conditional check

konczera
Regular Visitor

It's a creation of an item. I am quite a beginner in Power Automate, could you please show how to execute your advise?

Thanks in advance

DPozzi
Helper II
Helper II

I'm not a pro too but I'll try to help, so the trigger must be "when a file is created  in a folder"

DPozzi_0-1664293268503.png

then let's init a variable spliting the file identifier from the trigger: split(triggerOutputs()?['headers/x-ms-file-id'], '.')

DPozzi_0-1664299525486.png

DPozzi_4-1664300060144.png

then init the Extension variable

DPozzi_1-1664299637220.png

variables('FileIdentifier')[1]

the variables()[index] will extract the value from the array in that case the part after the "." 
I'm not considering that the filename could have other "." other than one before the extension but it's just to give you an idea.

DPozzi_2-1664299899423.png