cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jainsy

Send an email based on date in excel

Hello, 

Newbie here! I have absolutely no idea how to achieve what I set out to do (sorry!)

I'd like a flow that is scheduled to run every Monday morning at 8 am. 

I have an excel table with 2 columns - 'Name' and 'Deadline for Renewal'. 

NameDeadline for renewal
Archie21/11/2022
Barry23/11/2021
Bob13/4/2022
Chris27/12/2021

I would like an email to myself if the date in 'Deadline for renewal' is less than 3 months from today's date

Email should say 'Name' is due for renewal on 'Deadline for renewal'. Please act accordingly. 

Is this possible?

Thank you in advance!

4 REPLIES 4
v-LilyW-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @jainsy 

According to your description, you want to send an email based on date in excel.

I set up a flow based on the information you provided, you can take a try with the following screenshots to see if it helps.

This is my test excel and Deadline for renewal column is date data type. 

vLilyWmsft_13-1632972553382.png

Flow in details:

vLilyWmsft_0-1632970391243.png

vLilyWmsft_1-1632970519792.png

Expression1:formatDateTime(items('Apply_to_each')?['Deadline for renewal'],'yyyy-MM-dd')

Expression2:addDays(utcNow(),90,'yyyy-MM-dd')

vLilyWmsft_4-1632971189192.png

Expression:formatDateTime(items('Apply_to_each')?['Deadline for renewal'],'yyyy-MM-dd')

vLilyWmsft_5-1632971331325.png

Then save and test Flow.

After flow runs, I will receive two emails like below.

vLilyWmsft_3-1632970948181.png

vLilyWmsft_2-1632970939613.png

If you want to filter out all eligible rows and send them in an email , you can refer to this Flow.

vLilyWmsft_6-1632971492753.png

Expression1:formatDateTime(items('Apply_to_each')?['Deadline for renewal'],'yyyy-MM-dd')

Expression2:addDays(utcNow(),90,'yyyy-MM-dd')

vLilyWmsft_7-1632971944675.png

vLilyWmsft_11-1632972296494.png

vLilyWmsft_9-1632972105379.png

vLilyWmsft_10-1632972144817.png