cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JWat1
Regular Visitor

Send an email if duplicate item added to Sharepoint list

Hi, I am by no means a Flow expert so please be gentle.

I am trying to make a flow that sends an email if a new item is created on a SharePoint list, but with a condition that IF that item contains a duplicate, send an email to someone else and then continue running the flow.

I have seen multiple posts partially explaining how to possibly do this, but they don't all explain the full process.

Can anyone help?

9 REPLIES 9
Mira_Ghaly
Dual Super User II
Dual Super User II

@JWat1 

I have detailed how to check if an item exists on a sharepoint list in the article below:

https://onlinemgblog.wordpress.com/2021/05/29/building-flows-1-check-if-item-exist-and-update-if-exi...

So you can follow the steps to check if an item exists but modify the actions you take.

Hope this gives you an idea!

If this post helps you with your problem, please mark your as Accepted solution.If you like my response, please give it a Thumbs Up.

Blog: here
JWat1
Regular Visitor

Thanks for this, although I can't seem to apply the same logic to my own flow. I suspect this is my own lack of skill or knowledge however.

Mira_Ghaly
Dual Super User II
Dual Super User II

@JWat1

It is not lack of knowledge but you just can't get your head around it, can you share how you structured your flow.

Also I see it as the below steps:

1.Trigger of your flow should be when an item is created

2. Then you need to check for duplicate and this is should be through List items action with a filter that determines if an item with this filter already exists like for example ID eq '3'

If this List Items returned records this means that the item is duplicate.

If you share more details about your list structure and how you can detect duplicate.. I can provide you with a complete example.