cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
chancyrust
Level: Power Up

Set Approver from another list by matching department

I am relatively new to flow and I have been searching through to find an answer but have yet to come across anything that I can get to work. I have 2 lists that I am looking to conduct lookups in.

List 1 is a list of requests initiated by users. In List 1, each person must identify what department they are assigned to in order to complete the request. I want to fill in the "Manager (Approver)" field with the approving manager(s) from List 2.

List 1.JPG

List 2 is a list of departments with 1 - 3 assigned managers that I want to feed into List 1 as the approver(s).

List 2.JPG

This seems it should be extremely simple and have tried a number of different flow configurations to try to get it to feed, but have had no luck. Can I get some help on writing this flow from the beginning to end? 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Super User
Super User

Re: Set Approver from another list by matching department

Hi @chancyrust yes this can be done and I've prepared an example below:

We have 2 lists: the first one holds the list of approvers with the department in the Title column and the approver's email ,address in the Approver column.

0-Approvers-list.pngApprover list

We then have our main list for the approval requests:

1-Approvals-list.pngMain approvals request list

The flow then looks like this:
1. The trigger is "When a new item is created" in the Approvals list. The first action is to get the approver for the department selected by the user. To do this we use a Get items action and add a Filter query. As the department was in the Title column of the approvers list the filter query will be Title eq '{Department value}'. You select department value from the dynamic content and make sure you enclose it in apostrophes.

2-Trigger.png