cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
davemast
Level: Powered On

Sharepoint Items and Approvals as Another User

Hi there! I'm new to Flow and looking for some advice:

I've got a workflow that takes O365 Forms responses and creates a Sharepoint item. I would like to generate an approval coming from the user that actually submitted the form. Currently, when an approval is started, it's showing as coming from me (I'm assuming this is because my account is the connecting the workflow to Sharepoint).

Is there a workaround for this? Can I take a different approach to accomplish what I want, or is this simply an existing limitation? For the sake of clarity, I want to avoid having users directly create/edit items in Sharepoint - at least on this list.

Any insight or advice is welcome and appreciated. Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Community Support Team
Community Support Team

Re: Sharepoint Items and Approvals as Another User

Hi @ davemast,

Microsoft flow support to start an approval coming from the user which have created the connection in the "Start an approval" action currently.

Starting an approval coming from the user that actually submitted the form is not supported in microsoft flow currently,

I afraid that there is no way to achieve your needs in Microsoft Flow currently. 

If you would like this feature to be added in Microsoft Flow, please submit an idea to Flow Ideas Forum:

https://powerusers.microsoft.com/t5/Flow-Ideas/idb-p/FlowIdeas

Inaddition, you still could acheive to avoid having users directly create/edit items in Sharepoint list, please take a try to create flow as below:

Capture.PNG

When an response is created in Forms, the flow would run successfully to start an approval, and if the approver approve the request, the flow would run successfully to create an item in the sharepoint list as screenshot below:

Capture.PNG

Regards,
Alice Zhang

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
Super User