Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
trand86
Level: Powered On

Smartsheet to Approvals when value in cell is specific

Hi all,

Was wondering if anyone has tried to do this. Trying to create a flow that looks like this:

When a sheet is updated > "Pending" is in the sheet (in a cell) > Generate Approval

I can obviously choose the sheet, but not sure where to go next. Tried adding a condition but really unsure on the format of expression thats needed, or where to even put it.

I can also add in "get columns" as another action after the first trigger, but then I can't seem to do anything with those columns other than write conditions based around the actual column cell, like it's name, unique ID etc.

Wanted to use Smartsheet because of it's forms and data collection and how dynamic it is.

Thanks for any help, I'm really new to Flow, and actually new to expressions and formula anyway, just not sure if what I want to do is possible right now!

7 REPLIES 7
Community Support Team
Community Support Team

Re: Smartsheet to Approvals when value in cell is specific

Hi @trand86 ,

Do you want to check if the value of a specific cell is “Pending” then start an approval email?

I have made some test, however it seems that we could not get the value of a specific column or cell directly.

Please add a request at the Flow Ideas Forum about this issue:

https://powerusers.microsoft.com/t5/Flow-Ideas/idb-p/FlowIdeas

Best regards,

Mabel

Community Support Team _ Mabel Mao
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.
trand86

Hi @v-yamao-msft thanks for replying!

That's correct, even if "pending" is anywhere in the sheet if I limit it to one entry at a time.

So I next tried to copy the data over to Excel (via OneDrive Business). My thinking was this:

When a new row is added to Smartsheet > Copy new row to Excel