cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
greenkg24
Regular Visitor

Split two multi select fields in sharepoint list that are multi line text fields into new list keeping row id integrity

Hi there,

I have a list like this:

COLUMN 1COLUMN 2COLUMN 3
item 1fruit | candyapples | snickers
item 2fruit | candypear | strawberry | kit-kat

And I'd like to take that list and create a new lookup table that looks like this:

COLUMN 4COLUMN 5
item 1fruit
item 1candy
item 1apples
item 1

snickers

item 2fruit
item 2candy
item 2 pear
item 2strawberry
item 2kit-kat

I am brand new to using flow. I'd like to first create a batch job to run the flow for the existing data. Afterward, I'd like it set up to run everytime an item is created or modified. Reason for that is during a users session they often upload a new item or edit an existing item. 

I can do this so quick using python and excel, but I can't even begin to conceptualize it in power automate and haven't been able to find a related post for this problem yet. 

Any help would be great!

1 REPLY 1
PrasadAthalye
Super User
Super User

Here is how you can do it...

My  Compose 2 expression is as below. Here we are splitting column 1 and column 2 on the separator and then making a union of the output arrays.--> 

union(split(items('Apply_to_each_2')?['Column1'], '|'), split(items('Apply_to_each_2')?['Column2'], '|')) ​

Then we are running loop on the compose output. Finally in the insert, I am adding trim so that it removes spaces. Expression is as below.. trim(items('Apply_to_each_3'))

PrasadAthalye_0-1634689413092.png

Please Like and Mark this as Answer if it resolves your Issue.

Power Automate Community

Helpful resources

Announcements
MPA Virtual Workshop Carousel 768x460.png

Register for a Free Workshop

Learn to digitize and optimize business processes and connect all your applications to share data in real time.

Microsoft Build 768x460.png