cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ConanMcDonnell1
Level: Power Up

Store a form response in a variable and trigger an action when the variable reaches a value

Hi everyone

I'm pretty new to Forms so I wonder if you can help me with what might be quite a basic request.

I've created a scheduled Flow to send out a Form every morning.

The form is a check-list and when a particular action is not carried out on three consecutive working days (i.e. the option 'failed' is selected on three days ina row) I would like this to trigger an escalation email to e.g. a manager.

The Form responses are being recorded in a basic SharePoint custom list.

Can anyone suggest a method for storing the number of 'failure' responses in a variable and then triggering an action once that variable reaches 3, sends an email and then resets to 0?

Would I use the variable feature in Flow for this, or is there a way to do it using a separate simple Custom List which has only one value which acts as a counter?

Many thanks for your help on this - I have done some research but I don't really understand the responses I've seen to similar questions.

Conan McDonnell

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Community Support Team
Community Support Team

Re: Store a form response in a variable and trigger an action when the variable reaches a value

Hi @ConanMcDonnell1 ,

It is recommended that you use an additional list to achieve your needs, which is independent of the custom list you mentioned.

• Use this list to determine that a particular action is not carried out on three consecutive working days.
  • Create a new list to store the Response option or other content.

54.PNG

Then configure the following flow:

• After a user submits the form, get the selected option and create an item in the specified list.
  • According to ID to obtain the last three items, use Filter array to filter out the items whose option is failed.