cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
nixlyn
Regular Visitor

Trigger for specific choice in multi-checkbox column

I've spent more time than I'd like to admit on trying to figure this out. I'm relatively new to PA. I have a checkbox column that users can select multiple items from. (Example: Red, Blue, Yellow, Green). I only want to trigger a flow if Red is one of the choices. How on earth do I do this? It seems so simple yet I cannot figure it out. Thank you in advance...whoever answers me is my hero.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
nixlyn
Regular Visitor

I figured it out with the help of this post (thank you!) 

As mentioned in the post, using the ID of the choice will do the trick. However, the choices cannot change order, or the trigger will be incorrect. To get around this, create a List with your choices and use the column instead! This way, the ID of the "choice" doesn't change.

Example:

1. Create a new List with choices.
List name: Colors
(ID is automatically assigned by the system)
Red - ID 1
Blue - ID 2
Green - ID 3

2. Add that Lookup column to the List you're trying to trigger from and allow multiple selections.

3. Trigger your flow based on the List item ID. This example triggers if one of the choices is Red
@contains(triggerOutputs()?['body/Color#Id'],1)

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
nixlyn
Regular Visitor

I figured it out with the help of this post (thank you!) 

As mentioned in the post, using the ID of the choice will do the trick. However, the choices cannot change order, or the trigger will be incorrect. To get around this, create a List with your choices and use the column instead! This way, the ID of the "choice" doesn't change.

Example:

1. Create a new List with choices.
List name: Colors
(ID is automatically assigned by the system)
Red - ID 1
Blue - ID 2
Green - ID 3

2. Add that Lookup column to the List you're trying to trigger from and allow multiple selections.