cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
michaelBurch
Frequent Visitor

Trying to parse JSON data to Excel in a Flow. Unable to get past the Initialize variable

Hi all,

Here is my challenge.  As I preface every message I submit, I’m new to the PowerPlatform arena and far from a developer in any sense.  So I apologize for the remedial question.  Here is my use case and challenge – Use case:  We are being asked to create an app that can call the YouTube API and return specific information for review.  The challenge I currently having is on the Flow; I’m able to pass the data from the HTTP REST API invocation to a Response.  The issue now is on parsing this data into an Excel table.  I have searched for a method and have been able to derive at:

• PowerApps trigger
  • HTTPS REST API invoke
  • Response (JSON Schema)
  • Initialize variable (This is where I’m stuck)
  • Apply to each
    • Parse JSON
    • Add rows to Excel

Where I am stuck is passing the data from the Response to the Initialize variable to the Parse JSON.  I’ve been able to directly add Array values directly to the Initialize variable to kind of ‘synthesize’ the process successfully, but I need to be able to these come from the Response above.  If I remove the manually inserted data from the Initialize variable Value area and add Dynamic content from the Body of the HTTP REST API invoke I get an error on test:  The variable 'Data' of type 'Array' cannot be initialized or updated with value ‘ {the json string of data}’ of type 'Object'. The variable 'Data' only supports values of types 'Array'.

Here is the visual details:

michaelBurch_0-1594500898047.png

michaelBurch_1-1594500898052.png

michaelBurch_2-1594500898057.png

michaelBurch_3-1594500898060.png

Initialize variable error:

michaelBurch_4-1594500898070.png

Any guidance or advice would be greatly appreciated and thank you in advance

Michael B

2 REPLIES 2
efialttes
Super User
Super User

Hi!