cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
lee-martin
Level: Powered On

Update Dynamics entity when a file is added to Sharepoint

I'd like to update an entity in Dynamics 365 when a file as added to SharePoint.

I'm guessing i'll need to use flow, but I'm not too experienced with it.

Can someone point to somewhere online which might help me do this.

The scenario is that an agent will add several document to an account, and when each file is added to sharepoint, it will change a yes/no in my dynamics custom entity

5 REPLIES 5
Super User
Super User

Re: Update Dynamics entity when a file is added to Sharepoint

@lee-martin 

Hi there.  The tough part about doing this with Flow/Power Automate is that your trigger will probably need to watch multiple folders (one for each account, right?) at the same time.

Is the document mgmt Out-of-the-Box D365 stuff or something custom?  It seems like you'd be able to do all of this with a workflow.

Keep us posted.

-Ed-

If you liked this reply, please give it a thumbs up! If this reply has answered your question or resolved your challenge, please consider marking it as a Solution. This helps other users find it more easily via search.

lee-martin

It's all out of the box.

The I just need the yes/no to change once the related documents (for each account) have hit SharePoint. I'm  way out of practice with SharePoint, and new to Microsoft Flow, so I'm struggling to get what I need.

Super User
Super User

@lee-martin No worries at all.  I'm sure we'll find a solution.  I want to keep poking at the scope, though, to make sure I hear the same thing you are saying.  I'm still leaning towards a workflow in D365 to avoid having to have a flow for every account, but I want to make sure you want to flip the yes/no switch when any documents are uploaded...or are you wanting to only trigger it when specific documents are uploaded?

Thanks!

-Ed-

lee-martin

Thanks

The idea is