cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
BKME
Frequent Visitor

Use Flow to Calculate Date based on other Columns in Sharepoint List

Hello! I am very new to Power Automate and am hitting some snags with my flows. 

I am using a Sharepoint list to keep track of medications and want to use flow to calculate an expiration date for each script based on the values in several other columns (Date Written, Pill Quantity, Fills, Pills per Day).

The math is essentially: 

1. Quantity*Fills=Total Quantity 

2. Total Quantity/Pills per Day=Total Doses

3. Total Doses + Date Written = Expiration Date

I have approached this process in various ways (none very successful!). First I used calculated columns in the Sharepoint list to generate the expiration dates which worked really well until I realized I couldn't use calculated values in Power Automate flows. Then I tried to do the calculations in flow but can't figure out how to set it up to avoid creating an infinite loop. Step 3 has been the most difficult for me. I'm sure my flow is arranged incorrectly or the syntax of my expression is wonky.

In an ideal world, all of these calculations would be done in one flow instead of the clunky mess I've put together 😅Anyone have any suggestions? Thank you!Step 2Step 2Step 3Step 3

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
v-litu-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @BKME,

The expression is about like below. When you using it please replace these parameters with dynamic content actually, mine is just an example:

addDays(DateWritten,div(mul(Quantity,Fills),PillsPerDay),'yyyy-MM-dd')

And in case of an infinite loop, you could create a column in the SharePoint list named update by Flow, set its default value to No, and every time an item is created or modified, trigger the Flow but it should check if the update column value is No, if No, update item and set its value to Yes; if Yes, do nothing.

Best Regards,
Community Support Team _ Lin Tu