cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
CS90
Regular Visitor

Using Power Automate to lookup a value in a SharePoint list, compare it to an Excel list and return a name from the excel file into the Sharepoint List

Hello, 

I'm fairly new to Power Automate, I'm able to create approval flows and basic list updates from Forms etc but im a bit stuck on the steps to create a flow which does the following:

1. Data is captured into a Sharepoint List from a Microsoft Form submission (already created a flow that works for this).

2. I'd like to update the SharePoint list values against unique reference numbers (URN) and return a specific name associated from the excel file. 

Any help would be much appreciated! 

2 REPLIES 2
MarvinBangert
Super User
Super User

Hey @CS90 

so to understand you correct: When a new item is created in a SharePoint list (by another flow from MS Forms), you want to update this item using a second flow. This flow will check in an Excel-List in a column "unique reference numbers (URN)" for a specific value, and then updates the same item in SharePoint with some values from this Excel, right?

A couple of things to consider:

1. I would recommend instead of using two flows to update your first flow. This will make it easier to manage the whole process and make it easier to maintenance.

2. Nevertheless how you build your flows, you would need to do the following:

• Excel action: "List rows present in a table"
    • If you are familiar with ODATA filter query, you could try to filter this Excel list by the URN you are looking for, please also check out this for tips: Power Automate list rows present in a table filter query - EnjoySharePoint
    • If you are not feeling comfortable using the ODATA filter, you would need to use an action "Filter array" after your Excel action to filter your Excel list by the URN you are looking for