cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jdent
Regular Visitor

Using an event acceptance as a trigger for sending an email (Outlook 365)

Disclaimer: I am new to Power Automate

My work calendar (Outlook 365) is regularly populated with appointments that are generated from a secondary system and are boilerplate (same sender, predictable subject, etc.). Each time I accept one such appointment, I need to manually send an email with additional stock information to one of the people included in the appointment. This person changes with each appointment and is both named in the subject line and included in the to: field. I would like to automate this process.

So far I have tried working with “When an event is modified (V3)” and “When an event is added, updated or deleted (V3)” with no luck. At this point I’m guessing I will have to include trigger conditions and/or add custom code, both of which I am unfamiliar with. While I have coding experience, I am not familiar with the schema behind Power Automate.

Is there a relatively straightforward way to accomplish this? I’ve searched through the forums a bit and have yet to find a similar template or example to work with. I’m happy to get into the weeds, but need some structure to get started. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Expiscornovus
Super User II
Super User II

Hi @jdent,

I think you can use the responseType field for this.

responsetype.png

Add the following expression as trigger condition to a When an event is added, updated or deleted (V3) action.

@equals(triggerOutputs()?['body/responseType'], 'accepted')

triggercondition.png

Hope this helps a bit. Let us know if you need any additional help with the email stock information part of your flow.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
Expiscornovus
Super User II
Super User II

Hi @jdent,

I think you can use the responseType field for this.

responsetype.png