cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
charliecantflow
Level: Power Up

When a File Created or Modified (properties only) will not trigger from locally synced sharepoint folder

Hi All,

I'm new to flow so may be overlooking something simple.

I'm having an issue with triggering the Sharepoint File created or Modified (properties only) trigger. 

I originally created a Flow that utilised the When a file is created trigger that would send an email to a number of recipients that included a link to the new folder. This flow contained a two conditions to first check whether the file was a folder by using the Isfolder = true and then checked the folder path was equal to the path specified in the Trigger action, as I only wanted the email to send for a new folder in the 'Parent' folder.

This flow triggered perfectly when users created a new folder in the specified path using Sharepoint or their locally synced folder (Onedrive for business). The only issue was that when users created a folder in that path locally the flow would trigger with the Name 'New folder' rather than the Name they specified in Windows when they created the new folder, this consequently ment that link to the folder within the email was broken as the name was different.

My work around was to use When a file is created or modified, and add another condition that checks whether the 'Name' does not contain 'New folder'. 

Now things get a bit weird, this looks to work perfectly when each action is performed on Sharepoint (folder created/name change). However, the flow will only trigger if a user creates a new folder locally called 'New folder'. The Flow is not triggered if the user modifies that folder or if a user drags a differently named folder into the Parent folder, which did trigger the 'When a file is created (properties only)'.