cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
NVisa
Frequent Visitor

When file created on SharePoint, send email to specific person according to file name

Hi all,

I'm currently new to Microsoft Flow.

My scenario is whenever an Excel file has been created in SharePoint, it will automatically send an email to specific person according to file name.

The logic is that Excel file naming is the person name, then Flow can get the ID or contact email that will be then send to that specific person.

For example, Excel file name "Amily.xlsx" has been created, then it'll automatically send an email to Amily.

Excel file name "John.xlsx" created, it'll then send an email to John.

Could this scenario work by using Microsoft Flow?

I have try create some flow as per below but it didn't work:

Capture.PNG

Thank you.

Regards,

Tar

5 REPLIES 5
ScottShearer
Super User
Super User

@NVisa 

You can likely achieve your goal by parsing the filename with extension (use the split() expression and the Office 365 Users search for users action.  That said, this isn't a great approach in a large organization.

Please see my example below.  Any expressions that I used can be seen in the comments area for the associated action.  The split expression is necessary because of your requirement to send an email only for Excel files - that means you need the file extension.

If you use this solution, you'll probably want to add logic to handle situations where the user cannot be found.

FindUser.jpgFindUser1.jpgFindUser2.jpg

FindUser2.jpg

If I have answered your question, please mark your post as Solved.
If you like my response, please give it a Thumbs Up.

Scott
Gristy
Resident Rockstar
Resident Rockstar

Hi,

Name from the trigger already does not have file extension so no need to use split.

make sure you put a ; in-between each email address in the email action.

Few other things to note: