cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
vermaaman
Level: Powered On

get user location and set timezone of the site collection using flow!!

Greeting of the day,

I am fairly new with MS flow, please forgive me if my question sounds silly.

I have create a self service site provisioning engine using MS Flow, Azure function and pnp powershell, all working good.

at the moment i am passing the timezone of the user from a sharepoint configuration list by letting users select the location from a dropdown on the request form which is looked-up with a timezone id.

Problems Below:-

1- Business need user's location to come from user profie 'officelocation' property.
I tried using office 365 user connector but didn't get any success (may be an example will do) 😞

2- I have to set the site regional setting i.e. timezone based on user's location. is there any built in connector to achieve or any suggestion or example would be great?

Please show me some light on these issues.

Your help would be highly appreciated on this matter.

Thank you!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
vermaaman

Re: get user location and set timezone of the site collection using flow!!

Thank you @edgonzales for the inputs, 

i was able to get the current user's location using Office365User.myprofile().city in powerapps and then converted the city name into timezone using pnpcmdlet (That i am running inside azure function) $Timezone = Get-PnPTimezoneId $Cityname >> $Id = $Timezone.Id and passed into my provisioning engine to apply required timezone on the site.

Thank you very much for the inputs

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Super User
Super User

@vermaaman 

Hi there!  So, I was surprised to see that the timezone didn't come over with the Get User Profile connector on O365.  Might be worth submitting an idea.