cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
SSimmo
Level: Powered On

"Invalid Template" error on a less than date condition

I am just starting out with Flow and have created a flow which checks a column of a Sharepoint Online Document library for a Termination Date of an employee. If this date is older than 40 days, a few different tasks will be triggered opn those files.

The flow successfully recognises that some files are older than the 40 days and successfully sends an email (first task created to test). 

Despite this, the flow always says it has failed with the following:flowerror.PNG

This is a section of the flow that is being affected, with the expression being:

addDays(utcnow(),-40)

TermDateFLow.PNG

Any idea why this keeps giving me a failed response each time, whilst successfully sending me an email for the files in there older than 40 days?

Thanks, Simmo

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
SSimmo

Re: "Invalid Template" error on a less than date condition

Something funky was going on.

I was looking in the body as you suggested, but it only showed that Termination_Date did not exist.

I have since had time to create a new column and now that part is working as expected. Not sure what happened there, but it seems to have baulked after the column name was changed.

THanks for you help though guys.

10 REPLIES 10
Super User
Super User

Are there any items in the column for termination date which are empty? If so it will throw an error. Either add a filter query  for termination date ne null or add a condition that if termination date is not null (which is set in the expression tab on the right) then do the following actions....

Rob
Los Gallardos

Super User
Super User

Hi @SSimmo , thank you for your post.

The error says "expects two parameters of matching types. The function was invoked with values of type 'Null' and 'string' that do not match"