Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
bradcarmichael
Level: Power Up

Button search/filtering of gallery in addition to standard text search

Hi all,

Apologies if this is a basic question, I am pretty new to powerapps and I have been given the task of tweaking the UI of a prototype app that was put together by another team member. Basically this is intended to be a Contacts app that has a list of all of our staff with their names, email addresses, contact numbers, divisions, etc pulled from a sharepoint data source.

At the moment the text search works fine with no issues, however I have also introduced a vertical navigation bar that is made up with 26 buttons representing each letter of the alphabet. The idea is that if a user taps say the letter B that the gallery will automatically filter to show all names entries that start with the letter B.

I spent some time playing around with trying to make some differrent functions works on the OnSelect section on a button. An example is as follows on a button object called VertNaviB that has a text value of B defined:   

Filter(Contacts, StartsWith(Title, VertNaviB.Text))

From what I understand, Title is linked to the name column in the sharepoint data source. Other variations of the above did not appear to trigger anything in the gallery object as well.

I have been reading/watching support material further and I am thinking that I need to modify the search/filter function on the Gallery itself with additional conditions? I am just not sure how to go about it or if my thinking is correct. Below is what is currently in place on the Gallery object:

SortByColumns(

Search(

Contacts, TextSearchBox.Text, "Title"), "ID", If(SortDescending1, Descending, Ascending))

Long story short, I want to maintain the type search functionality for users and also have the alphabetical filtering as well as an alternative search option.

Cheers,

Brad

5 REPLIES 5
Dual Super User
Dual Super User