cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
JasonF
Level: Powered On

Display one to many relationship in Canvas Apps

I am just a beginner user, but decided to build a test app to explore the capabilites of CDS and Powerapps. I build two tables in CDS with a one to many relationship "Test Company" (Company Name) One>>>Many "Test Sales" (Company Name)... See attached:

CDS Company Relationship.JPGCDS Test Company RelationshipCDS Company.JPGCDS Test Company EntityCDS Sales.JPGCDS Test Sales Entity

So with all this defined I though would a create a simple canvas app with two galleries. One for "Test Company" and one for "Test Sales" and the idea would be to click on "Test Company" gallery and filter "Test Sales" gallery. However the "Company Name" in "Test Sales" does not appear to be visible. Any ideas as why this is???

CDS PoweraApp Form.jpg

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
mcolbert
Level 8

Re: Display one to many relationship in Canvas Apps

@JasonF 

When using related entities in CDS, you can filter by referencing the unique identifier (GUID) that CDS creates for each row.  On the many side (Test Sales) there will be a reference to the parent entity (Test Company). 

Look at your entity fields and look for the field with the data type of Unique Identifier,. In your example, you likely have a filed called Test Company, that is of type Unique Identifier, named crdf5_testcompanyid. This is referenceable in the filter on Test Sales based on the relationship you created.

Using the display name for the fields your filter would look like ...

Filter('Test Sales', 'Test Company'.'Test Company' = Gallery1.Selected.'Test Company')

Using the field name your filter would look like ...

Filter('Test Sales', 'Test Company'.crdf5_testcompanyid = Gallery1.Selected.crdf5_testcompanyid)

Hope this helps!

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
mdevaney
Level 8

@JasonF 

I am not an expert on CDS but I have two ideas: