cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
BlackDuck
Level: Power Up

DropDown selection in Email body for powerapp

Hi I have a very simple power app which is essentially a 'contact us' form that gets emailed to me.

It has a drop down selection which users can specify why they are contacting us (eg feedback, asking a question, requesting something new), a text field where they can put their email address (so i can respond) and then a text field they can provide their comments. I then have a button which sends an email to me with the content of their message. I have successfully got the email button working which includes the body of their comments and their email address. 

My question:

I want the dropdown selection to be included as the 'subject' of the email i receive ... but when i try i get an error, any suggestions? also please be simple in your explanations, this is my first powerapp and i am a complete noob.

THANK YOU

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Super User
Super User

Re: DropDown selection in Email body for powerapp

Hello @BlackDuck and welcome!

Without seeing the code you are using, I am going to take a shot in the dark and suggest what it could be. To access the text from a drop down named Dropdown1 you would use the following:

Dropdown1.Selected.Value

That will give the literal text that is selected in the drop down. To add it to another text string, you would use something like:

"Email subject: " & Dropdown1.Selected.Value

If you were using the Office365.SendEmail function, putting it in your subject line would look something like this:

Office365.SendEmail("myemail@mycompany.com", "Email subject: " & Dropdown1.Selected.Value, "Here is the text of the email")

or

Office365.SendEmail(emailAddress.Text, "Email subject: " & Dropdown1.Selected.Value, emailText.Text)