Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
grunwald
Level: Powered On

Filter a filter

Hi everyone,

i am new to powerapps and maybe the solution is easy.

I want to create a prefiltered view on Projects.

Means:

If a users opens the app a userId will be looked up( ---> this works)

LookUp('[dbo].[tblUser]';email=User().Email;ID)

I store this value in a textbox named varUserId

with this userId Filter a m:n table where are useres assigned to projects so the result will

a set of project ids the user is assigned to

Filter('[dbo].[tblProjectUser]';fk_user_id = Value(VarUserID.Text))

When i display this in a DataTable it works.

How can i use this to prefilter the gally datasource tblProjects to see only the  Projects assigned to the user?

Thank you!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
nickduxfield
Level 8

Re: Filter a filter

Can I have a go?

1. OnStart Properties #Loads on app start##
    1. Set(CurrentUser,User()) ##used to lookup other user info##
    2. Set(CurrentUserIDVariable,Lookup(UserTable, CurrentUser.DisplayName=Name,UserID)) ##Gets the UserID stores in global variable)
    3. ClearCollect(ProjectCollection, ProjectTable) ##Creates a collection from all known projects##
    4. ClearCollect(ProjectUserCollection, Filter(ProjectUser, CurrentUserIDVariable=FK_User_ID)) ##Creates a filtered collection of just the current user assignments##
  2. On My Projects Gallery (presents current users projects): SortByColumns(Filter(ProjectCollection,Project.ID=ProjectUserCollection.FK_Project_ID),'Modified",Decending))

##Filters the Projects collection, by the Project ID's in FilteredProjectUserCollection##

##Should only show the project info your assigned projects as multiple items in gallery##

This is a good challenge, the data model looks flexible.

That will be pre filtered for the user. You can then add other drop downs to filter status or date etc.

View solution in original post

21 REPLIES 21
Anonymous
Not applicable