cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ahhollan
Level: Powered On

Filter by text box or drop down

I'm very new to Power Apps. I'm connected to our Office 365 users connector. I've built an ee directory and am trying to set it up so that i can filter the list by either a user name in a text box OR a drop down list of departments.  I'm not sure how to do this. Do I create the filter on the Gallery filter? if so, what is the syntax? Please help!!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Community Support Team
Community Support Team

Re: Filter by text box or drop down

Hi @ahhollan 

You can reference @ahhollan 's suggestions.

Add one Gallery control, one textinput control,and rename the control as Gallery3, Textinput1

Gallery3.Items=Filter(Office365Users.SearchUser(),DisplayName = TextInput1.Text)    (you can use DisplayName and other properties as Id,Title ...)

textinput1.PNG

And if you want to use one dropdown control.

Dropdown.Items=Office365Users.SearchUser().DisplayName

Gallery.Items=Filter(Office365Users.SearchUser(),DisplayName = Dropdown.Selected.DisplayName)

More information:

control-gallery

function-filter-lookup

control-text-input

control-drop-down

Best Regards.

Yumia

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
Ritika_Agarwal

Hi @ahhollan 

Yes, you can directly reference the filtered results into the Gallery Items. For doing so, please use the below expression and you should be able to get the required result.

Filter(Office365Users.SearchUser(),Or(TextInput4.Text in DisplayName, Dropdown1.Selected.Value in Department))

Here I have used the Office365Users.SearchUser() to get the details from the data source for the selected DisplayName/Department.

I hope this will resolve your concern! If yes, please mark it as closed, so that it will be beneficial for others too.

Highlighted
Community Support Team
Community Support Team

Hi @ahhollan 

You can reference @ahhollan 's suggestions.