cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
mark_daquin
Level: Power Up

Filtering a gallery (Share Point list) by Created By

Hi - I've created a simple Time Tracking app (list 'Time Tracker')and on the BrowseScreen1 I want to place a button that will filter (boolean) between all entries and my entries. I have a column in my list called Created By with is the author of the line item. 

I placed an icon at the top of my BrowseScreen1 (button) and placed the following fx for OnSelect of the button to be

UpdateContext({ myTimeOnly: !myTimeOnly, CurrentUser:User().Email });
If ( myTimeOnly, Filter('Time Tracker', 'Created By'.Email=CurrentUser ),'Time Tracker')

I am pretty new to PowerApps so any help here woudl be great.

Thanks,

Mark

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Super User
Super User

Re: Filtering a gallery (Share Point list) by Created By

@mark_daquin 

You're close!!

The variable updates (UpdateContext) on the button OnSelect are fine.

However your formula for the Filter needs to go on your Gallery.

Set the Items property to the following:

Filter('Time Tracker', If(myTimeOnly, 'Created By'.Email=CurrentUser, true))

This will filter your gallery when the myTimeOnly is true.  Otherwise it will filter against true (all records).

I hope that is helpful for you.

_____________________________________________________________________________________
Digging it? - Click on the Thumbs Up. Solved your problem? - Click on Accept as Solution. Others seeking the same answers will be happy you did.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
Super User
Super User

@mark_daquin 

You're close!!

The variable updates (UpdateContext) on the button OnSelect are fine.

However your formula for the Filter needs to go on your Gallery.

Set the Items property to the following:

Filter('Time Tracker', If(myTimeOnly, 'Created By'.Email=CurrentUser, true))