Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
cjnunn
Level: Powered On

Filtering a gallery by using a value in another list

Hello, everyone. 

I am brand new to PowerApps, and I am struggling with my first app.

The goal is essentially to have a personalized user home page with links to various "Favorites" that the user chooses from a list.

What I have done is created 2 SharePoint lists:

TestAppsList: holds a list of information about applications (App name, web link, icon, etc.)

UserApps: holds the information about a particular user's preference to have the app as a favorite. (User email, App name, preference(boolean), and a column to identify each record by app and user(concatenated user email and app name))

What I am trying to do is have 2 galleries.

Gallery1: Shows a list of all of the apps in the TestAppsList

Gallery2: Shows a list of all of the apps in the TestAppsList where the user has marked the app as a favorite (In UserApps: preference=true)

I am using a toggle in Gallery1 to set the prefence value in UserApps

I cannot get Gallery2 to only show the values that are "favorites".

I have tried many things that did not work, but the closest I got was:

(in the Items field for Gallery2)

Filter(TestAppList, TextInput1.Text in ShowColumns(Filter('UserApps', Favorite = 1), "UserApp").UserApp)

For some reason, this is still showing all of the apps in the list, instead of only the "favorited" ones

I also tried Filter(TestAppList, If(Toggle1.Value = true , StartsWith(Title, Title1.Text))), but this only shows the last item that was toggled.

Any help would be very much appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Super User
Super User

Re: Filtering a gallery by using a value in another list

@cjnunn 

Can you explain a little more on Gallery2 - you state listing all of the apps in the TestAppsList.

Are you stating that only the apps that are marked as favorites should appear?