cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
MiKeZZa
Level: Powered On

Filtering data in PowerApps based on Power BI

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to PowerApps but making some nice things right now. Now I want to include a PowerApps app into a PowerBI report. So far no problems; 

pbi_working_good.png 

But now I want to filter the data in the app when I click something in PowerBI. Lets say that I select 'Needs action next week' in the pie chart I only want to see the corresponding records in the App (so that means Frank and Jan).

I've been trying many things and I've found out that I have to pass the Power BI info to the app by dropping the info into the PowerApps data:

pbi_connecting.png

And then you have to make a change to the formula for the Items that belong to the BrowseGallery. I've tried (because I found this online) this statement: Filter(BrowseGallery1,Gallery1.Selected.Status=Status).

But this doesn't work:

pbi_problem.png

So now I have some questions

1. Is what I try to achieve possible?
  2. How can I achieve this?
  3. Items already had some content:
    SortByColumns(Search('[dbo].[Messages]'; TextSearchBox1.Text; "Client";"Client"); "Client"; If(SortDescending1; Descending; Ascending))
    because of filtering and sorting of columns. Is it possible to merge the answer of question 2 with this statement?
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PowerApps Staff sarafankit
PowerApps Staff

Re: Filtering data in PowerApps based on Power BI

Hi @MiKeZZa - The answer you are looking for is actually described in this blog post - https://powerapps.microsoft.com/en-us/blog/powerbi-powerapps-visual/

You would need to do the following:

• Launch the PowerApps app in edit mode from inside your Power BI report. Select the ... on the PowerApps custom visual and click Edit. This will setup up the connection between your Power BI report and that app.