cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Boneckrh19
Level 8

Formula Syntax; If(), Text(), and DateAdd specifically

I'm new to powerapps and I'm having a bit of trouble understanding how the formulas work. I've not been finding anything to explain the syntax for multiple operations in the DateAdd function, though I *think* I found that in the If function, multiple operations are possible by separating with a semicolon. Trying to apply this information is getting very messy, since I so far haven't seen a way to create a new variable or refer to a variable that has been previously changed. Perhaps this would be better explained with an example.

If( 
Not(IsBlank(ThisItem.HolidayDate)),

Text(DateAdd(ThisItem.HolidayDate, Today() - 1900, Years), "[$-en-US]dddd, mmmm dd, yyyy"),

Text(DateAdd(DateAdd(Today(), HolidayMonth - Today(), Months), HolidayNumOfWeeksIn*7 + HolidayDayOfWeek - 1 - Today(), Days),
"[$-en-US]dddd, mmmm dd, yyyy")
)

This looks horribly convoluted to me, but there doesn't appear to be a good way to break these functions into smaller bits because there's no way to make or refer to a variable after it's been changed except to keep stacking the changes. This code produces a completely blank field. If I take away the "else" portion, it's still blank.

The breakdown of this would go as follows:

If the HolidayDate field is not blank (ie, a holiday with a known date like Christmas),

Find today's year and add it to HolidayDate, and subtract the year that HolidayDate comes with. 
(Basically, I'm trying to replace the year from the input with the current year.) Display this final date with the weekday, month, day, and year.
(No abbreviations for weekday and month)

Else, (There is no date ie, Thanksgiving)
Find todays date, subtract todays month and add HolidayMonth
(To replace todays month with the given month)
add HolidayNumOfWeeks*7
(number of days to add based on how many weeks into the given month that holiday is)