cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ComplianceGuy
Level: Powered On

Hidden fields with conditional "required" property not working properly

Dear all,

I am pretty new to PowerApps and this forum. If this was already addressed somehwere: my bad, feel free to point me in the right direction.

Currently, I am working on a multipage PowerApp form, based on a SharePoint list. In the form, the user can provide input with a series of toggles. A series of corresponding Text input fields depend on these toggles, in that their visible and required properties contain formulas referencing the toggles (using an if formula). So far so good.

In short: when a toggle's value is true, the text input field should be visible and required. If the toggle's value is false, the text input field should be invisible and not required.

When I test the form, the visible property responds correctly. However, upon submitting the form, the app treats the hidden text field as required anyway and shows an error message. When I uncheck the toggle a second time, the form responds as expected.

What I have tried sofar:

- The usual quality checks of the formulas.

- I double-checked that none of the SharePoint columns is required.

Would hugely appreciate your help with this issue. Many thanks in advance!

5 REPLIES 5
Super User
Super User

Re: Hidden fields with conditional "required" property not working properly

You could try setting the Required to the Visible property.

Example for the Title_DataCard1 Required Property:  Title_DataCard1.Visible

The other thing you could test is to make hidden datacard visible and see if the asterisk is showing. This will tell you if the PowerApps form thinks it is required or if SharePoint is returning the required field error message.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------