cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
pwrappr01
Level: Powered On

How do I filter a SharePoint Lookup list based on text entered in a search box?

I have two SharePoint lists. List A has a series of names. List B shows who is assigned one of those names. When users are adding entries to List B, I need my PowerApp to let users search for a word such as "Microsoft" and have it then filter the drop-down lookup choices from List A so that only entries that contain "Microsoft" are available for selection.

I am very new to PowerApps and would appreciate any help y'all can provide.

9 REPLIES 9
Super User
Super User

Re: How do I filter a SharePoint Lookup list based on text entered in a search box?

@pwrappr01 

You mention a DropDown...if so, have you considered using a ComboBox?  The ComboBox provides this functionality.

If you add a ComboBox and

1) set the Items to ListA.  Then set the Primary Text and the Search Field to the column in ListA that has the names you want to search.

2) Set the isSearchable property (or Allow Search) to true

You will now have a dropdown that users can type a name such a "Microsoft" and it will narrow the list down as they type.

I hope this is clear and helpful for you.

_____________________________________________________________________________________
Digging it? - Click on the Thumbs Up. Solved your problem? - Click on Accept as Solution. Others seeking the same answers will be happy you did.
pwrappr01

Re: How do I filter a SharePoint Lookup list based on text entered in a search box?

@RandyHayes ,

That is very helpful. Is there any way to change the behavior of the search? I noticed it seems to default to a "Starts With".

Super User
Super User

@pwrappr01 

Hmmm, I've never noticed that...it searches full text from all I've ever done.

Here in this screenshot, I am (with all the same parameters I mentioned to you), searching for "th" in a list.  My list items are full text searched, not StartsWith.