Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
loganl
Level: Powered On

Inventory notification

Greetings all - 

I've modified the the Asset Checkout template to reserve quantities of items based on user input from a Text Input field. What I'd like is to display a warning if if they request an amount greater than what is currently on stock. 

The data is coming from a datafield called "Quantity" in my Excel sheet. I'm brand new to this, so if someone is feeling extra helpful and breakdown the formula for a dunce like me, I'd be very grateful. 

21 REPLIES 21
myke_deabreu
Level 8

Re: Inventory notification

Hi Logani,

You could create a Label and have the text to show "**WARNING MESSAGE**". Then on the "Visible" function of the label you could do something like:

#Reference where the quantity is being typed in:

Value(TextInput.Text)>LookUp(*excel_table*,item=*item_name*,Quantity)  

If the statement is true the label will be visible else it will be invisible. Not entriely sure how you have the template setup. If you have it in a collection it may be faster.

Let me know if this helped, provide some more information or screenshot of the varibles.

loganl

Thanks for that explanation - I'm getting an "expecting a number value" error. Here's what (I think) I know:

1) The form is setting a global variable of Set(ItemSelected, ThisItem). It's getting passed from a browse screen to a reserve screen, where I'd like the warning to display.

2) I've renamed the quantity field to "productquantityfield". So my visible formula for the error is: 

Value(productquantityfield.Text)>LookUp(Checkedout,ThisItem=productquantityfield,"Quantity")

Where Checkedout is my table name, and "Quantity" is the name of my table column. 

jhall
Level 8

@loganl wrote:

Value(productquantityfield.Text)>LookUp(Checkedout,ThisItem=productquantityfield,"Quantity")

Is it as simple as your comma mistake above?  Shouldn't it actually be: