cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Bernard038
Level: Powered On

Migrating from Access web app to Powerapps

Hello All,

I am still somewhat annoyed after reading this morning that the Access web apps are being retired. A critical application for my company is an Access Web App... But we will have to make the switch to PowerApps, no use in being annoyed i guess. But as i am a total newbie in the field of powerapps, i have a few questions before i start reading the "introduction to power apps for access web app developers":

• The app will be a "desktop first" (or browser first) app, using the app on mobile devices is not necessary at all. Is this possible? (hard requirement)
  • Can i create a (relational) database in Powerapps, consisting of several related tables and several different queries? (hard requirement)
  • Can i link a table (or a query) to an Excel workbook which resides on our local network so new records are automatically added tot the excel workbook? (new feature, would be very nice)
  • Can i add Word (2016 desktop) templates to Power apps so my users can search a client in our PowerApp and create a letter where the name and address of the client are already filled in? (new feature, would be very nice)

Looking forward to your thoughts and answers!

Cheers, b.

9 REPLIES 9
JRaasumaa
Level 10

Re: Migrating from Access web app to Powerapps

I just started using PowerApps myself but I think I have some insight to your questions.

•  The app will be a "desktop first" (or browser first) app, using the app on mobile devices is not necessary at all. Is this possible? (hard requirement)

Powerapps can be run straight from the browser or used within the actual powerapps (windows 10 only?) so yes, you can definitely make it more for the desktop first. On my desktop the browser version is identical to the iPad app version.