cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cwalliser
Level: Power Up

Need opinions if Power Apps can do this...

Below is a description of what we need. My question is if Power Apps is a good fit for this?

I can do basic scripting, but I'm not a coder. Is this going to be more of a headache to maintain than buying a turnkey application? 

Scenario:

1. A rep wants to send an Eval Unit to a prospect.
    They enter the Product ID for the Eval unit and view what serial numbers for that product are available in the time frame desired.
  2. If a unit is available, the rep can enter the related information (client, location, dates, etc) and allocate that unit.
    The next rep viewing the data would see that serial number / date combination as unavailable.
  3. A rep can look at the product history and see where it has been in the past.

Considerations:

1. Browser based application that can be accessed from any computer.
  2. Keep the front end for viewing by product ID, and new schedule entry clean and simple.
  3. Restrict viewing of different product types based on the user (user based security).
  4. Basic users cannot modify records.
  5. Admin users can modify current and historical records, changing dates, etc.
  6. Admin users can delete records.
  7. Want to store transaction history for viewing and reporting.

Data Fields:

Product ID, Product Serial#, Sales Engineer Name, Client Name, Location, Type of Use (Demo / Eval), Start Date, End Date, Note

6 REPLIES 6
Jimmy1
Level: Powered On

Re: Need opinions if Power Apps can do this...

Hi cwalliser,

To my knowledge, PowerApps is a platform to enable light, mobile, and simple applications.