cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
LongRider971
Level: Power Up

PowerApp Form field Validation/Formatting

I am a rookie at PowerApps and i am sure this question is beyond simple for most people....

I have a form with several fields, two of which are 'Status' (Dropdown - Approved, Denied, In Progress) and 'Denied Reason' (Multiple Line of Text). 

What i am trying to do involves two stages:

1. 'Denied Reason' is only visible if the Denied 'Status' is chosen 

2. If Denied is chosen, 'Denied Reason' is a required field

I have been messing with this for hours and i cannot seem to figure out how to accomplish either of these.  If someone can lend a hand, it will have a major impact as learning these two steps will easily evolve into much more.  I have worked extensively with InfoPath and Nintex, now i just need to learn PowerApp forms. 

Thanks in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Community Support Team
Community Support Team

Re: PowerApp Form field Validation/Formatting

Hi @LongRider971 ,

Based on the needs that you mentioned, I think the If function could achieve your needs. I have made a test on my side, please take  a try with the following workaround:

Set the Visible property fo the 'Denied Reason' data card in your Edit form to following:

If(
   StatusDropdown.Selected.Value = "Denied",
true,
false )

Set the Required property of the 'Denied Reason' data card in your Edit form to following:

if(
    true,
    false
)

Please take a try with above solution, then check if the issue is solved.

Best regards,

Community Support Team _ Kris Dai
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
Edwin-Abdalian
Level 10