Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Gary2019
Level: Powered On

Problem of patching chinese character to Azure SQL

Hi, 

I am new to powerapps. I am now try to use patch function to update Azure Sql. 

I found that the inputted chinese character will be changed to ?? in Azure SQL.

There is no way for me to modify the inputted text into N'chinese text' and my azure sql collation is set: SQL_Latin1_General_CP1_CI_AS which cannot be changed. 

So, is there any suggestion to solve such problem?

Thanks a lot.

Gary

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Gary2019

Re: Problem of patching chinese character to Azure SQL

Dear Karis,

Thanks for your advice.

Finally, the problem is solved by creating a new database and choosing the chinese collation:  Chinese_Taiwan_Stroke_CI_AS in the beginning.

Now no matter I input traditional chinese, simplied chinese or even Japanese characters, the azure sql table shows the correct encoding. 

Thanks a lot.

Best regards,

Gary

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Community Support Team
Community Support Team

Hi @Gary2019 ,

Which type column do you use in your Azure SQL Table to store the chinese character? varchar or nvarchar type column?

Based on the issue that you mentioned, I think this issue may be related to character encode in your Azure SQL Table. If you want to store the chinese characte in your SQL Table, please consider set up a nvarchar type column to store the chinese character rather than use varchar type column.

On your side, please consider add a nvarchar type column in your SQL Table or convert the existing varchar type column into nvarchar type column, then store the text passed from your app into this nvarchar type column, check if the issue is solved.

Best regards,

Community Support Team _ Kris Dai
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.
Gary2019

Dear Kris,

Thanks for your support.