cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jayant1
Level: Powered On

Search Function for a Text Field

Hi All,

i am looking for a quick fix for my text field. So, i have a text field with control of dropdown values but it does not provide the functionality of find items within it. 
i want to make that search available within the textbox.
Hope you guys get it as i am really new to Powerapps. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Dual Super User
Dual Super User

Re: Search Function for a Text Field

Hi @jayant1 

You can directly use Combobox instead of dropdown to satisfy your condition, that would be a better option. You can enable the Allow Searching property to add the search box in the control.

If you still want to use text input, along with the Dropdown, you can use the below expression to filter dropdown results as:

Filter(DropDownSample,If(!IsBlank(TextInput1.Text),TextInput1.Text in Value,true))

Please replace DropDownSample with your DataSource and TextInput1.Text with your textinput control name.MicrosoftTeams-image (122).png

Hope this Helps!

If this reply has answered your question or solved your issue, please mark this question as answered. Answered questions helps users in the future who may have the same issue or question quickly find a resolution via search. If you liked my response, please consider giving it a thumbs up. THANKS!

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
Dual Super User
Dual Super User

Hi @jayant1 

You can directly use Combobox instead of dropdown to satisfy your condition, that would be a better option. You can enable the Allow Searching property to add the search box in the control.

If you still want to use text input, along with the Dropdown, you can use the below expression to filter dropdown results as:

Filter(DropDownSample,If(!IsBlank(TextInput1.Text),TextInput1.Text in Value,true))