cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ChrisMedeiros
Level: Power Up

Searching on multiple fields or columns

Hi-

I'm very new to PowerApps and have been trying to read everything I can. I'm creating an app that allows a police department to enter in information on vehicles and later search. I'm storing the data in a sharepoint 365 list and have had it build the powerapp for me. I made some minor cosmetic changes, but the search only seems to be looking at a single field, in this case "color". I'd like to be able to search Vin#'s, License plate #'s, case #'s etc.. I don't want the search to only be able to look at one field as the officer may be looking on various information. 

Is there a way to address this issue? My current statement in the Items formula is: SortByColumns(Filter('Tow/Hold Reports', StartsWith(Color_x003a_, TextSearchBox1.Text)), "Color_x003a_", If(SortDescending1, Descending, Ascending))

Thanks,

Chris

11 REPLIES 11
Community Support Team
Community Support Team

Re: Searching on multiple fields or columns

Hi @ChrisMedeiros,

Do you mean to make the formula to be able to search on different columns only with a single TextInput Box?

If this is what you would like to achieve, then you may replace the Filter function with the Search function, by modifying the formula you posted as below:

SortByColumns(
                Search('Tow/Hold Reports',
                             TextSearchBox1.Text,
                              Color_x003a_,Vin#'s, License plate #'s, case #'s),
                "Color_x003a_",
               If(SortDescending1, Descending, Ascending))

The Search function Syntax:

Search( Table, SearchString, Column1 [, Column2, ... ] )

• Table - Required. Table to search.
  • SearchString - Required. The string to search for. If blank or an empty string, all records are returned.