Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
joew72
Level: Powered On

Security Profile Based on Specific Field Information

Hi PowerApps community

I'm relatively new to PowerApps and just setting up the security for a model-driven app we are setting up to manage some case files we have as an organisation.

I have setup an entity called 'Case' which has sensitive data on certain fields so I want to setup security on these particular records (or if possible specific fields). I have done this through field security profiles HOWEVER I would like to know if it is possible to set up the system so that only certain records can be accessed by a particular team based on the type of record it is.

For example, we have Project 1 and Project 2. All case records are stored in the 'Case' entity. There is a field within 'Case' called 'Project' and the user either selects Project 1 or Project 2. I want to set it up so that teams can only access certain records, i.e. Team 1 can only access Project 1 records and Team 2 can only access Project 2 records (all the while keeping all the data stored in the 'Case' entity).

If it is possible to set it up so that Team 1 can access some Project 2 records but be limited to what fields they can access, that would be ideal but not vital.

Thoughts?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Community Support Team
Community Support Team

Re: Security Profile Based on Specific Field Information

Hi @joew72 ,

I assume that the "Case" entity is a CDS entity and it is the data source that you want to use. Then you can achieve this by embedding a canvas app to your model-driven form. Follow the steps in below documentation to achieve this:

https://powerapps.microsoft.com/en-us/blog/enrich-your-model-driven-forms-with-embedded-canvas-apps-...