cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ithinkican123
Level: Power Up

Text search box

Hello I am new to PowerApps and I am having issues with the search Items box. I created a simple test list in sharpoint. I want to be able to search the name and have it display from the list below it. I am not sure if I need to make changes in the BrowseGallery1-items area or the TextSearchBox1 area. Thanks for any help!

Screen Shot 12-15-17 at 01.14 PM.PNG

Screen Shot 12-15-17 at 01.14 PM.PNG

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Community Support Team
Community Support Team

Re: Text search box

Hi @ithinkican123,

Yes, you should modify the Items property of the Gallery control.

To have the search box work with the proper field, filter or search function should be used here.

For example, if your SharePoint List has a Field Named with "Name", and you would like to search it with the Search Box, then the formula under the Items property should be modified as below:

SortByColumns(
Filter(ListName,
StartsWith(Name, TextSearchBox1.Text)),
"Title",
If(SortDescending1, Descending, Ascending))

To have the Name Field displayed in the Gallery, please first select the Text field in the first card in Gallery, then under the Data panel, switch the field to ThisItem.Name:

32.PNG

Adding some more references:

Gallery control in PowerApps

Understand data forms in Microsoft PowerApps

Regards,

Michael

Community Support Team _ Michael Shao
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
Community Support Team
Community Support Team

Hi @ithinkican123,

Yes, you should modify the Items property of the Gallery control.

To have the search box work with the proper field, filter or search function should be used here.