cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Jhogan21
Level: Powered On

Update collection

I am looking for some help regarding collections. I am new to this and trying the self taught thing and, well, it is kicking my butt.

Is it possible to update a collection from multiple text inputs across mutiple screens?

I have 12 text input boxes spread over 3 screens. I would like to have info entered into each box and then update a collection with the info. I am currently using a button on each screen the updates the collection and navigates to the next screen. The issue is that each screen is placing the information into a new row rather than the same row as the previous info.

Is there a way to get all the information into one neat row? Eventually I will be expanding the app to 8-9 screens and dont want 9 rows of data for one entry.

Example:

Screen1: Textinpt1, Textinpt2, Textinpt3

Screen 2: Textinpt4, Textipt5, Textinpt6

Collection name: Testing

Column Names: Col1, Col2, Col3, Col4, Col5, Col6 (Fancy, I know)

I would like to have info from screen1 and 2 in a single row.

Any sugestions or alternate methods would be much appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PowerApps Staff CarlosFigueira
PowerApps Staff

Re: Update collection

There are a couple of options on how you can go about this scenario:

1. You don't add any items to the collection until the last screen; at that point you can add a single record getting the values from all the text input controls from the different screens
  2. In the first screen you add one "incomplete" record to the collection; in each subsequent screen you keep updating that record, until the last screen, where you can then mark the record as "complete"

The attached app shows an example similar to your scenario. To open it, save it locally, then go to https://create.powerapps.com, select Open -> Browse, and find the file that you saved.

Hope this helps!

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4