cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JonRead
Level: Power Up

Using Formulas in SharePoint Online PowerApp customised form

Hi Community,

I have been using InfoPath for forms within SharePoint over a number of years and one of the things that I have always managed to do is have a form field input based on a calculation from 2 other fields on the form. I am totally new to PowerApps.

What I do not seem to be able to do is create that within PowerApps so it's either not possible or I am not doing it correctly.

I have 2 date fields and what I want to capture is the number of years between the 2 dates but 1 of the dates is not always present so it needs to be amendable to enable a manual (hence not using SharePoint to calculcate the output as that would then not show in the form and therefore not be amendable as required).

The output would need to be the number of years as an Integer so I was looking at something along the lines of If(FirstDate="",0,INT((SecondDate - FirstDate)/365)) as the default value for the Years field. I am guessing it would need to be included after change to the SecondDate field or if not then it would need to be able to change based on the inputs in those 2 fields and not just at the time the form loads.

Thanks in advance for any assistance that anyone can be provide.

3 REPLIES 3
JonRead

Re: Using Formulas in SharePoint Online PowerApp customised form

I have managed to get a formula that works and will provide what I need but cannot get it to update once the form is opened up and details entered into the date fields.

RoundDown(DateDiff('First Date','Second Date',Days)/365,0) Within the SecondDate field I did put a formula into the OnChange property as 'Calc Field'=RoundDown(DateDiff('First Date','Second Date',Days)/365,0) which is not then updating the details in the Calc Field on the form.