Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
psbees
Level: Power Up

time

I'm new to powerapps, and I created an app using a simple excel table with:

Time | Event| Group as my columns

The time in my excel file is formatted as h:hh a.m.

the time showing up on my powerapp is zulu time 8 hrs difference.

How do I correct this in my app?

5 REPLIES 5
PowerApps Staff CarlosFigueira
PowerApps Staff

Re: time

Currently we don't have any easy way to convert between local time (what you want) and UTC (Zulu time). We're working to make the experience easier, but in the interim you can use the workaround shown below.

Basically, times in excel are stored in the local time zone, and sent as strings to PowerApps. You can use the DateTmeValue function to convert between the string representation (in UTC) and a time value, and then the Text function to display it in a prettier format:

Text(DateTimeValue(ThisItem.Time), DateTimeFormat.ShortTime)

One thing that I've noticed, however, is that times in Excel are always stored in UTC, so if you try to convert it to string with the functions shown above, you will have the time in your time zone, which will likely be different than the value in excel. One solution for this is to strip the 'Z' from the time string representation prior to converting it to a DateTime value, and that will make PowerApps interpret the value as a local time:

Text(DateTimeValue(Substitute(ThisItem.Time, "Z", "")), DateTimeFormat.ShortTime)

Hope this helps.

psbees

thx the strip of "z" worked!

Choksbergen

I'm running into the same type of an issue.  I'm reading in data from a database, and using the date/time result to decide what to display.  Unfortunately, it seems that PowerApps automatically adjusts my time as if the time it read from the SQL Server was in UTC (it's not), changing it five hours.

I'm trying to use the date (COMPLETE_DT) in a formula, as follows.