cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Kman

2 Sharepoint Lists

I'm pretty new to Power apps so this is probably a pretty basic question to most people but I have been fumbling around with it for a few days.

I have two sharepoint lists: List 1 and List 2.

Both List 1 and List 2 have a text field named Map Location. Otherwise the two lists have different fields.

Map Location is unique. There will never be more than one entry in either list associated with a Map Location. List 2 will only have a single entry for a map location number from List 1.

What I need to do is put a combo box, needed as List 1 is somewhat large and search is necessary, on my power app that allows the selection of Map Location combo box from List 1 and puts the data and fields from List 2 into the edit form using the Map Location chosen in the combo box.

If there is no record for that Map Location in List 2 then a blank record should be brought up for edit with the fields in List 2.

This post https://powerusers.microsoft.com/t5/Building-Power-Apps/Lookup-with-2-sharepoint-list/m-p/706589#M22... was somewhat helpful but didn’t get me all the way there.

I can’t use a lookup field in the sharepoint lists as List 2 list is a temporary tracking list that once completed the row associated with the Map Location will be moved to a history list and deleted from List 2. I need the row in List 1 to remain when the row in List 2s is deleted.

Also List 1 gets deleted and rebuilt once per day. Long story but this is not going to change.

I can't figure out how to use two sharepoint lists with selecting Map Location from one list and bringing data and fields associated with the selected Map Location from a different sharepoint list in an edit form.