cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Frequent Visitor

Add new column to SP list daily & refer back to new column

Hi all,

I'm new to Power Apps, I'm currently developing a Production Planning Application. I am using Sharepoint Lists as databases for the information entered to be stored. I have a list for each process, Kits & Dispatch Plan. All these lists will be edited in the application.  

Process1.PNG

I'm using a gallery with labels & text inputs as the table of entry. 

Plan.PNG

My questions:

1. How can I generate a column for every new day, for example when the planner selects Create New, a new column is added to the list, with the name of that day, & the forms then update accordingly. 

2. If they want to view previous plans, how to I refer back to the column of that specific day? It would be good if they can do it via the Date Selector. 

I've tried a whole lot of things but have had no success. 

Thanks in advance!

2 REPLIES 2
Power Apps
Power Apps

Hi @Zelda,

It sounds like:

• You have a screen in your app that shows a gallery that has been formatted like a table in a spreadsheet.
  • Upon creating a new process plan, you want to show a new 'column' in the gallery.

I am thinking this is a question of how to structure your data.

For every Product Reference, you may have multiple plans: Date 1, Date 2, Date N.

Instinctively, you imagine each date as its own column in SharePoint. From a perspective of consuming the data, this makes sense: you want to see the plan for each date in its own column.

For long term maintainability however, this structure does not scale well. After 30 days, you have 30 columns. 

Can you let me know if I'm understanding your context? If so, I can share some suggestions. If not, can you please clarify a little bit more?

Hi @Mr-Dang-MSFT ,

Yes that is correct. 

I have two options,

1. Create a new column everyday and refer back to it.