cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Anonymous
Not applicable

App Locked For Editing (Lost Changes)

Hi,

I am developing an app currently, and I have accidently closed the tab and reopened. I didn't hit 'menu' > 'close' on this occassion. For some bizzare reason, PowerApps now thinks that I have a session open and wont allow me to revert back to editing the app where I left off! instead, its showing me a version from what looks like when I created the app!

Struggling for a way to resolve this. I have tried exporting the current package and importing back in which didnt work. This has also happened to me before, and when I try and restore from a previous version, it just re-writes my most up to date version with the shell again.

Can anyone advise?

 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
v-yamao-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi CraigFeg,

 

Have you enabled Auto save? If you have selected On for Auto save, then all the changes you have made on an app will be changed automatically every 2 minutes. if no, then it might be not possible to revert back to edit the app where you left off.


Besides, you could check Versions information on powerapps.com, and you could restore your app to a previous version.


Please take this doc for a reference:
https://powerapps.microsoft.com/en-us/tutorials/restore-an-app/


Best regards,
Mabel Mao

Community Support Team _ Mabel Mao
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
v-yamao-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi CraigFeg,

 

Have you enabled Auto save? If you have selected On for Auto save, then all the changes you have made on an app will be changed automatically every 2 minutes. if no, then it might be not possible to revert back to edit the app where you left off.


Besides, you could check Versions information on powerapps.com, and you could restore your app to a previous version.


Please take this doc for a reference:
https://powerapps.microsoft.com/en-us/tutorials/restore-an-app/


Best regards,
Mabel Mao

Community Support Team _ Mabel Mao
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

Anonymous
Not applicable

(EDIT: I tried restoring again and this seemed to work second time around! Thanks for your suggestion!)

 

Hi,

 

Thanks for your reply. I've tried to restore a later version. However, when I do this, the following error message appears.

For reference, I am in the account which the PowerApp states it is locked for editing to! How can I go back into the verison that is locked for editing?

 

Screenshot.JPG

 

Thanks

Craig

 

Im having this same issue. My app says it is locked for editing by the account that i am logged in with. Did you find a solution?

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi,

 

Sorry for the delayed response. I didn't manage to find a clean solution to resolving this problem. However, I did restore the application via the PowerApps website to an earlier version. It appeared to not work first time of asking, but it worked second time around.

 

Let me know if you need a further in-depth explaination!

mjmmet
Frequent Visitor

Can you publish your "clean solution"?  I am having this issue and cannot get around it.  Thank you!

mjmmet
Frequent Visitor

Never mind.  I just re-read your post and you said you DIDN'T find a clean solution.  If anyone can suggest a way around this, it would be much appreciated!

Anonymous
Not applicable

I'm not able to restore my live version of the Powerapp "Skills and Products-PowerApps".
Everytime I go to "Edit" its gives error that open in another session to edit, if I click Override it gives session error: Session ID: 67245e0d-fbb5-4a50-8298-b66c23fb1ab0.
Please help restore version 3.20064.23 

FrancoisK
New Member

Well, I know this is a old topic, so this is a bit of a message in a bottle...

App is Locked  by user.  Export/Import does not work (still locked).

What if the user went on vacation on left the App open? 

Or he lost his VPN key and can't get back in his VDI with the App open...

 

Does it ever timeout?  You know like wait 24 hours?

Is there some sort of Portal / Azure Administrator / CLI that could knock the user out (yes, with loss of work, better than preventing any other change)?

 

Thanks!

Helpful resources

Announcements
UG GA Amplification 768x460.png

Launching new user group features

Learn how to create your own user groups today!

Community Connections 768x460.jpg

Community & How To Videos

Check out the new Power Platform Community Connections gallery!

Welcome Super Users.jpg

Super User Season 2

Congratulations, the new Super User Season 2 for 2021 has started!

Carousel 2021 Release Wave 2 Plan 768x460.jpg

2021 Release Wave 2 Plan

Power Platform release plan for the 2021 release wave 2 describes all new features releasing from October 2021 through March 2022.

Users online (2,564)